Authorized mountain guides

The UIAGM/IFMGA* guide standard is the highest recognized certification in the profession of Mountain guiding world wide. In order to reach the fully certified Mountain guide status trainees need to go through the international UIAGM/IFMGA mountain guide program. In Norwegian the certified UIAGM/IFMGA guides are called Tindevegleder. In order to enter the mountain guide program, many years of extensive training and a high level of skills in all mountain practise are required and tested.

Once accepted to start the UIAGM/IFMGA education, rigorous guide training and exams follow to first reach the status Aspirant Guide, and later on qualify as a certified mountain guide. The UIAGM/IFMGA program takes a minimum of 3 years to complete.

Altogether, a fully certified UIAGM/IFMGA mountain guide often has more than 10 years of dedicated training before getting the diploma. In Norway, the mountain guide association NORTIND is responsible for the UIAGM/IFMGA program and this expertise. Among Norwegian guides, only NORTIND guides with their clients are covered by a specific mountain guide insurance of responsibility for activities in mountain terrain.

Lofoten guiding

Fields of work

UIAGM/IFMGA mountain guides work in the alpine terrain all year around. Here are some examples of fields of work:

Skiing and skitouring
Heli skiing
Alpine climbing
Rock-, ice – and mixed climbing
Glacier travel
Snow and avalanche awareness
Safety and securing of venues for mountain competions/film etc

* Union Internationale des Associations de Guide de Montagne /
International Federation of Mountain Guides Associations


Back to previous page